IEEE John von Neumann – Medal

ieee_logo_mb_taglineThe IEEE John von Neumann Medal is named in honor of the eminent mathematician John von Neumann, whose work at the Institute for Advanced Study led to the building of the IAS binary stored-program computer in 1952.

Therefore this medal, sponsored by IBM, is awarded yearly for a individuals or a group of up to 3 people for outstanding achievements in computer-related science and technology. The achievements may be theoretical, technological, or entrepreneurial. Subject areas cover computer architecture, base technologies, systems, languages, algorithms and protocols, and application domains.

The nomination deadline is the 1st July 2015, with successful nominees awarded the medal in November time.

To find out more and nominate – Click Here
To view the nomination guidelines – Click Here

The Lush Prize 2015 – Open for Nominations


Nominations for the 2015 LUSH Prize are now open. The prize is for projects, organisations, institutions or individuals focussed on ending the use of animal testing or for research into non-animal tests, or promoting the use of non-animal tests. You are able to enter yourself, or nominate your organisation/ another individual.

This award offers £250,000 over 5 different categories:

1) Lobbying – Individuals, groups or organisations pushing for change, focusing on policy interventions promoting the use of alternatives to animal testing. Replacement only.

2) Public Awareness – Individuals or organisations raising public awareness of ongoing animal testing. 3Rs eligible.

3) Science – Individuals, research teams or institutions for work conducted on relevant toxicity pathways. Outstanding research producing an effective non-animal safety test based on an approach other than toxicity pathways, where none existed before, may also be considered. Replacement only.

4) Training – Individuals, teams or organisations involved in training others in non-animal methods. Replacement only.

5) Young Researcher Prize – Young scientists (up to 35 years at the time of application) with a desire to fund the next stage of a career focussed on an animal-test free future. Replacement only.

The deadline for nominations is the 24th July 2015

To find out more – Click Here
To view the different categories and apply – Click Here
To view previous years winners – Click Here

Ulf Aberg Award in Human Factors – Student Competition


The Chartered Institute of Ergonomics and Human Factors (CIEHF) is offering a prize for the best post graduate student project in ergonomics/humans factors for the academic year 2014/15 as part of the Ulf Aberg Award.

Ulf Aberg was born in 1920 and graduated in electrical engineering from the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm in 1945, gaining a Doctorate in 1961. For 14 years he worked with Ericsson, and later with the National Defence Research Institute, on acoustics, speech transmission and information theory.

The application is submitted by the supervisor or course director, and which was usually marked and evaluated by the home university during the immediately preceding academic year. The winner will be presented with £100 and a certificate, and attendance at the IEHF’s Ergonomics & Human Factors Conference.

The closing date for applications is the 31st October 2015

To find out more and apply – Click Here