Skip to main content

Noninvasive imaging of cardiac electrophysiology and arhythmias in the intact human heart

Professor Yoram Rudy ( Washington University in St Louis )

A noninvasive imaging modality for cardiac electrophysiology and arrhythmias is not yet available for clinical application. Such modality could be used to identify patients at risk, provide accurate diagnosis and guide therapy.  Standard noninvasive diagnostic techniques, such as the electrocardiogram (ECG) provide only low-resolution reflection of cardiac electrical activity on the body surface.  In my presentation, I will describe the application in humans of a new imaging modality called Electrocardiographic Imaging (ECGI) that noninvasively images cardiac electrical activity on the heart’s epicardial surface.  In ECGI, a multi-electrode vest (or strips) records 250 body-surface electrocardiograms; then, using geometrical information from a CT scan and an inverse solution to Laplace equation, electrical potentials, electrograms, activation sequences  (isochrones) and repolarization patterns are reconstructed on the heart‘s surface.  I will show examples of imaged atrial and ventricular activation and ventricular repolarization in the normal heart and during cardiac arrhythmias.

Bio: Professor Rudy joined Washington University in 2004 as the Fred Saigh Distinguished Professor of Engineering, with appointments in the departments of Biomedical Engineering, Medicine, Cell Biology & Physiology, Radiology, and Pediatrics. He established the interdisciplinary Cardiac Bioelectricity and Arrhythmia Center (CBAC) at Washington University, which includes 39 faculty members. He has also served as a visiting professor in various universities worldwide.

Professor Rudy published over 200 scientific articles. He graduated 30 doctoral students, who continue to pursue careers in academic research and medicine, and in the biomedical industry. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the recipient of numerous awards, among which are: the NIH Merit Award, the Biomedical Engineering Society Distinguished Lectureship Award, the Heart Rhythm Society Distinguished Scientist Award, Case Western Reserve University Distinguished Alumni Award and the Hein Wellens Distinguished Professor in Cardiology at Maastricht University. He also served as President of the Cardiac Electrophysiology Society from 2006-2008.



Share this: