Skip to main content

Success at the first Inter-ACE Capture the Flag Competition


Oxford sent a team to the first Inter-ACE Capture-the-flag competition on Saturday 23 April, hosted by the University of Cambridge. Participation in the Inter-ACE cyberchallenge is open only to Universities accredited as Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR) under the EPSRC/GCHQ scheme. The event was sponsored by Facebook and organised by Frank Stajano and his team at the University of Cambridge. 

The Oxford team included Ilias Giechaskiel, David Korczynski, Alexander Darer, Alastair Janse van Rensburg, with Emma Espinosa competing from home and Katherine Fletcher (Cyber Security Oxford network Coordinator) accompanying the team.

Emma won a silver medal, coming second out of a field of 29 people playing from home.

Here’s a picture of the team: left to right: Alex Darer, Ilias Giechaskiel, Katherine Fletcher, Alastair Janse van Rensburg, David Korczynski.  Not pictured: Emma Espinosa.