Skip to main content

Seven from our department shortlisted for student-led teaching awards


Students have shortlisted seven of our department’s teaching and support staff in four categories in the University of Oxford’s Student-Led Teaching Awards 2018.

They are:

  • Best Support Staff: Maureen York
  • Most Acclaimed Lecturer: Professor Ian Horrocks
  • Outstanding Graduate Supervisor: Professor Cas Cremers and Professor Andrew Martin
  • Outstanding Tutor: Andreas Galanis, Andrew Ker and Irina Voiculescu

Maureen is the lead administrator in the Cyber Security Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) and assisted in its set up in 2012/13. She has worked in the University since 1994.

Ian has been working in the area of knowledge representation and reasoning (KRR) for more than 20 years, and leads the department’s KRR research group. He has been teaching computational complexity in the department for several years, and this year taught a course on knowledge representation and reasoning, which is partly based on his recent book ‘An Introduction to Description Logic’.

Cas’ research focuses on information security, and he currently supervises six DPhil students. He has been at Oxford since 2013, and is a fellow of Kellogg College.

Andrew Martin directs the CDT in Cyber Security, and supervises DPhil students there. He has been with the department since 1999, and is also a Governing Body Fellow at Kellogg College.

Andrew Ker has been an Associate Professor in the department since 2009, lecturing on steganography and steganalysis in a course called Advanced Security, as well as Computer Security, Discrete Mathematics, and Lambda Calculus and Types. He has also been a Tutorial Fellow in Computer Science at University College since 2009.

Postdoctoral researcher Andreas teaches the Probability and Algorithms at Algorithms courses at Hertford College.

Senior Lecturer Irina has been in the department since 1999, specialising in 3D Geometric Modelling, and is a Stipendiary Lecturer at Keble College where she tutors first and second year students.

The winners of the awards will be announced at a ceremony in Oxford Town Hall on 10 May.

Full shorlist at: