Skip to main content

Welcome to our new Strachey Chair, Professor Nobuko Yoshida


We are delighted to announce that Professor Nobuko Yoshida has been appointed as the Christopher Strachey Professor of Computing. Nobuko will join us on 1 October 2022 and will be a member of Wolfson College.

Nobuko will be joining us from Imperial College London. She was jointly supervised by Professor Mario Tokoro and Professor Cliff Jones. Professor Jones was himself a student of Emeritus Professor of this department, Sir Tony Hoare.

The Strachey chair is the oldest chair in the Department of Computer Science, and is named for Christopher Strachey, who founded Oxford’s Programming Research Group in 1965. There have previously been two holders of this post, Sir Tony Hoare and Professor Samson Abramsky.

Head of Department Leslie Ann Goldberg comments, ‘I am delighted that Nobuko has accepted this position. Nobuko is a world-leading expert in concurrency and programming languages, and her research will hugely expand our expertise in these areas.’

Nobuko says, ‘I am excited to be able to join the department to seek a step change in communication and concurrent languages and systems, by collaborating with many researchers in the department.’