Skip to main content

Ian Horrocks elected to Academia Europaea


Ian Horrocks has been elected to join Academia Europæa, an eminent organization for European scholars.

Academia Europæa members are scientists and scholars who collectively aim to promote learning, education and research.  Membership of the organisation recognises an individuals as one of the top researchers in Europe.

This European non-governmental academy founded in 1988 and has over 2000 members, including around 40 Nobel Laureates.

The membership includes leading experts from the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, the letters and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and the law.

Ian’s research interests include knowledge representation, ontologies and ontology languages, modal and description logics,automated reasoning, implementation and optimisation of reasoning systems, and applications in areas such as e-Science and the Semantic Web. 

Samson Abramsky, Georg Gottlob, Bill Roscoe and Marta Kwiatkowska from the Department of Computer Science at Oxford are already members.