Skip to main content

Computer Science welcomes new Head of Department


Michael Wooldridge, Professor of Computer Science and Senior Research Fellow at Hertford College, takes over from Bill Roscoe as Head of Department from 1 October 2014. Bill will remain with the Department.

Mike joined the University of Oxford as a Professor of Computer Science on 1 June 2012, after 12 years as a Professor at the University of Liverpool. During his time at Liverpool, he was Head of Department of Computer Science (2001-05), and Head of School of Electrical Engineering, Electronics, and Computer Science (2008-11).

Mike is a AAAI Fellow, an ECCAI Fellow, an AISB Fellow, and a BCS Fellow. He has authored more than 300 academic publications, and is ranked among the top 100 most cited researchers in computer science. Mike’s main research interests are in the computational aspects of rational action in systems composed  of multiple self-interested agents. His current research is funded by a five year ERC Advanced Grant.

Mike will be assisted by two new Deputy Heads of Department: Peter Jeavons, Professor of Computer Science and Fellow at St Anne’s College; and Joel Ouaknine, Professor of Computer Science, EPSRC Leadership Fellow, and Fellow of St John’s College.

Further details in the Winter 2014 edition of the Inspired Research newsletter. Download a copy from:  by clicking on the cover image. (No need to log on.)