Skip to main content

Medical Cyber-Physical Systems

Insup Lee ( University of Pennsylvania )

Medical devices are undergoing significant transformations, embracing the potential of the Internet of medical things. The combination of embedded software controlling the devices, networking capabilities, and complicated physiological dynamics exhibited by patients makes modern medical device systems a distinct class of cyber-physical systems (CPS), called medical cyber-physical systems (MCPS).  The goal of MCPS is to improve patient safety and treatment outcomes by leveraging diverse capabilities of individual devices to gain a more detailed and accurate picture of the evolving patient state. This talk will present several issues in MCPS that have been studied at PRECISE Center in the last several years such as medical-device interoperability, medical application platform, closed-loop, human-in-the loop, and assurance cases. This talk will emphasis the needs and challenges in assuring the safety and effectiveness of MCPS applications using formal modeling and analysis techniques.


Insup Lee is Cecilia Fitler Moore Professor of Computer and Information Science and Director of PRECISE Center, which he co-founded in 2008 at the University of Pennsylvania. His research interests include cyber-physical systems (CPS), real-time systems, embedded systems, high-confidence medical device systems, formal methods and tools, run-time verification, software certification, and trust management.  The theme of his research activities has been to assure and improve the correctness, safety, and timeliness of life-critical embedded systems. Recently, he has been working in medical cyber-physical systems and security of cyber physical systems.

He has served on many program committees, chaired many international conferences and workshops and served on various steering and advisory committees of technical societies. He has also served on the editorial boards on the several scientific journals, including Journal of ACM, ACM Transactions on Cyber-Physical Systems, IEEE Transactions on Computers, Formal Methods in System Design, and Real-Time Systems Journal.   He is Chair of ACM SIGBED (2015-2018) and was Chair of IEEE TC-RTS (2003-2004). He was a member of Technical Advisory Group (TAG) of President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Networking and Information Technology (2006-2007).  He is a member of the National Research Council’s committee on 21st Century Cyber-Physical Systems Education (2014-2015). He received an appreciation award from Ministry of Science, IT and Future Planning, South Korea in 2013. His papers received the best paper awards in IEEE RTSS 2003, CEAS 2011, IEEE RTSS 2012, and ACM/IEEE ICCPS 2014, and the best student paper in IEEE RTAS 2012.He is IEEE fellow and received IEEE TC-RTS Outstanding Technical Achievement and Leadership Award in 2008.



Share this: