Skip to main content

Blanca Rodriguez

Personal photo - Blanca Rodriguez

Professor Blanca Rodriguez

Professor of Computational Medicine
Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow in Basic Biomedical Sciences

Governing Body Fellow, St Cross College


Science & Innovation

My scientific interest is in innovating in medical therapy development through a focus on human pathophysiology with modelling and simulation augmented by big data, machine learning and non-animal experimental methods. Our work has been featured as pioneering case studies for the 'Digital Twin' vision in cardiology, as well as In Silico Trials in drug development.   

My scientific publications can be found here, enabled by effective collaborations with academia, industry and regulators, including joint work with Merck, Amgen, Janssen, European Medicines Agencies, Food and Drug Administration, Sanofi, UCB, AnaBios, In Silico Medicine. 

We have developed a number of cardiac models and simulation softwares, with substantial validation, including the Virtual Assay software for pro-arrhythmia and cardiac contractility prediction, and human ventricular electrophysiology, electromechanical and Purkinje models. 

Advisor & Consultancy

As part of my work to accelerate medical innovation, I enjoy working with industry on the integration and validation of novel modelling and simulation solutions for new medical products.

Entrepreneurship is key for innovation and I actively collaborate with investors and venture capitalists, participate in The Entrepreneurship Lab at the London Business School, as well as being chair of the Partnership fund panel for the Impact Acceleration Account at Oxford for many years. 

I regularly act as board member and advisor for organisations such as the European Commission (ECVAM) and the National Centre for the 3Rs of animals in Reserach, the European Society of Cardiology (e-cardiology working group and Council of Basic Caardiovascular Science) and Wellcome Trust. 

Training & Coaching 

I have deep interest in scientific training in modelling and simulation, with a focus on technical aspects such as verification, validation and uncertainty quantification, and importantly also the skills required to collaborate across disciplines and sectors (academia/industry). 

I coach colleagues and deliver workshops on navigating career challenges with a healthy work-life balance, getting funding, collaborating, problem solving and conflict resolution. 

Public speaking

I am regularly invited to give talks to academics, clinicians and industry on modelling and simulation for innovation in medical product development, within the Digital Twin and In Silico Trials visions.   

Here is a recent podcast 'Beyond communication, building up trust with potential interdisciplinary collaborators.'

Here is a recording with my recent participation at public engagement event at the Science Museum in London.

More recordings: Human in silico trial for the VPH summer school, NC3Rs award: how computer models can replace animal testing, 18th FRAME Annual Lecture



  • Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellowship in Biomedical Sciences, (2013-2025).
  • European Society of Cardiology Fellow, 2019
  • Impact Award, MPLS Division, University of Oxford, 2018.
  • 2017 NC3Rs International Prize (for Passini et al., 2017).
  • NC3Rs Infrastructure for Impact Award (2016-2021).
  • 2014 NC3Rs International Prize (for Britton et al., 2013).
  • Archer Leadership project (2015-2017).
  • EPSRC Impact Acceleration Award (2013-2016)
  • Medical Research Council Centenary Award (2012-2013).
  • Medical Research Council Industrial Partnership Award (2012-2013).
  • Medical Research Council Career Development Award (2007-2013).
  • Wellcome Trust Career Development Research Fellowship (2007-2012)
  • BHF Intermediate Research Fellowship (2007-2011)
  • Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellowship (2007-2009)
  • Merit Award, Oxford University Computing Laboratory, 2005-2006 and 2008-2009.
  • First Prize, Young Investigators Award Competition, Heart Rhythm Society Scientific Sessions, San Francisco, USA, May 2004.




Professor Blanca Rodriguez is Professor of Computational Medicine, Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow and Head of the Computational Biology and Health Informatics Theme at the Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford. Originally, she is from Valencia, Spain, where she trained in Engineering at the Universidad Politecnica de Valencia (MSc and PhD), and as a postdoc for two years at Tulane University in New Orleans, USA. She then joined Oxford, holding personal research fellowships since 2007 and a professorship since 2014. She has raised over £40 million as principal or co-investigator and leads the Computational Cardiovascular Science team ( She is interested in novel, interdisciplinary methodologies to accelerate therapy development, and replace animal testing through collaboration with industry and regulators. Her team has contributed pioneering case studies for the Digital Twin vision in precision medicine, and In Silico Trials for therapy testing. She has a deep commitment to training on technical aspects of modelling and simulation including verification, validation and uncertainty quantification, but importantly also skills for effective interdisciplinary and intersectoral collaborations.  She regularly speaks in scientific conferences, to industry and public events. She also enjoys a healthy life style, has three children and loves friendship, swimming, yoga, food and travelling amongst many other things. 


Selected Publications

View AllManage publications


Completed Projects

Current Students


Julia Camps
Research Associate
Albert Dasi I Martinez
Research Associate
Zhinuo (Jenny) Wang
Research Associate

Past Students

Miguel Bernabeu
Oliver Britton
Louie Cardone-Noott
Ciara Dangerfield
Sara Dutta
Philip Gemmell
Matt Gibb
Aurore Lyon
Polina Mamoshina
Francesca Margara
Peter Marinov
Adam McCarthy
Anna Muszkiewicz
David Stone
Mikael Wallman
John Walmsley
Lei Wang