Skip to main content

Andrew Markham

Personal photo - Andrew Markham

Dr Andrew Markham

Associate Professor
Director, Software Engineering Programme

Governing Body Fellow, Kellogg College

T: +44 1865 (6) 10729

Wolfson Building, Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3QD


My Google Scholar Citations can be found here. Visit my personal website for more info about my research.


I am an Associate Professor and I work on sensing systems, with applications from wildlife tracking to indoor robotics to checking that bridges are safe. I work in the cyberphysical systems group and lead a large group of researchers and students. I design novel sensors, investigate new algorithms (increasingly deep and reinforcement learning based) and apply these innovations to solving new problems. Previously I was an EPSRC Postdoctoral Research Fellow, working on the UnderTracker project. I am investigating how to localize people, animals and objects in environments where technologies like GPS fail, such as underground or indoors. Key to this is the use of magneto-inductive tracking and communication. My work is typically cross-disciplinary and I colloborate with colleagues from a wide range of disciplines. I obtained my PhD from the University of Cape Town, South Africa in 2008 researching the design and implementation of a wildlife tracking system, using heterogeneous wireless sensor networks. 

Some of my work has neatly been summarized in the following OxfordSparks animation.




PhD in Electrical Engineering, University of Cape Town, South Africa (2008):

"On a wildlife tracking and telemetry system: a wireless network approach"

BSc in Electrical Engineering, First Class Honours, University of Cape Town, South Africa (2004)

Selected Publications

View AllManage publications



Completed Projects

Current Students


Stuart Golodetz
Research Associate
Vu Tran
Research Associate
Qian  Xie
Research Associate

Past Students

Ronnie Clark
Savvas Papaioannou
Zhihua Wang
Linhai Xie
Bo Yang

Past Researchers

Changhao Chen
Pedro Porto Buarque de Gusmão
Muhamad Risqi U. Saputra
Johan Wahlstrom
Yang Xing