Skip to main content

Ian Horrocks

Personal photo - Ian Horrocks

Professor Ian Horrocks FRS

Professor of Computer Science

T: +44 1865 273939
T: +44 1865 610689


My research interests include knowledge representation, ontologies and ontology languages, modal and description logics, automated reasoning, implementation and optimisation of reasoning systems, and applications in areas such as e-Science and the Semantic Web.

Activities (selected)

Editor in Chief of the new diamond open access jounal Transactions on Graph Data and Knowledge (TGDK)
Founder of Oxford Semantic Technologies


You might be interested in An Introduction to Description Logics, a book that I co-authored (with Franz Baader, Carsten Lutz and Uli Sattler). A complete list of my publications, along with downloadable pdfs. Lists of selected, recent, and most-cited publications are also available. If you are a glutton for punishment you could also look at my Google Citations profile, or my DBLP entry.


Slides from selected keynotes, seminars, tutorials and other presentations.

Tools & Datasets

The group has developed many tools , including, e.g., HermiT , a highly optimised OWL 2 reasoner, ELK , a consequence based OWL 2 EL reasoner, PAGOdA , a pay-as-you-go OWL 2 query answering system, RDFox , a highly scalable RDF triple store, and SemFacet , a semantic faceted search system. We also maintain a library of ontologies and datasets .

Doctoral Study in Computer Science

Students working towards their D.Phil (PhD) are an integral part of the Data and Knowledge Group, and make a vital contribution to our research. See our studentships page for further details, and information about funding opportunities . You might also be interested in this page about Oxford Alumnae, one of whom (Despoina Magka) did her DPhil in the KRR group and is now at Facebook.

Other Links

linkNew & Events
linkOxford Impacts

Selected Publications

View AllManage publications


Current Students


Jiaoyan Chen
Senior Researcher
Yuan He
Research Associate

Past Students

Temitope Ajileye
Ana Armas
Andrew Bate
Federico Igne
Despoina Magka
Rob Shearer
Frantisek Simancik
Yujiao Zhou

Past Researchers

Jieying Chen
Pan Hu
Alina Petrova